Rio sports
Home | Site map

Motorsport In Rio

One can get an idea about the popularity of motorsport in Rio easily from the fact that Brazil has produced three Formula One world champions. They are Emerson Fittipaldi in the year 1972 and 1974, Nelson Piquet in the year 1981, 1983 and 1987 and Ayrton Senna in the year 1988, 1990 and 1991. Apart from this, three other persons from Brazil were runner ups in this year, 2009. their names are Rubens Barrichello of Brawn GP, Felipe Massa of Ferrari and Nelson Piquet, Jr. of Renault. Let us explore more information on motorsport in Rio, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

The participation of Brazil in the Formula One calendar has been since 1972. in preset times, it is generally the last race of the year, held in mid-October. There have been two circuits being host to the race of Formula One namely the Jacarepagua and Interlagos. The Jacarepagua is situated in Rio de Janeiro. It played a host to the race organized in the year 1978 race and then between 1981 and 1989. From 1972 to 1977, in 1979 and 1980, and since 1990 the Brazilian Grand Prix happens at the place called as Interlagos circuit, in Sao Paulo.

The Brazil has total of around 101 Formula One race wins as per the 2009 Italian Grand Prix). The distribution of these wins goes like this Senna-41, Piquet- 23, Fittipaldi- 14, Massa-11, Barrichello-11 and José Carlos Pace-1. Fittipaldi Automotiven is the only Formula One constructor to ever be based in Brazil. Going ahead with info on motorsport in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, here are few more things worth knowing. Brazil is also a home country of well known motorsport drivers in the Indy Racing League and also in the USAC and CART, such as 2004 champion Tony Kanaan, as well as winners of the Indy 500 race; the Brazilians have won this event for six times with Emerson Fittipaldi in 1989 and 1993, Helio Castroneves in 2001, 2002 and 2009 and Gil de Ferran in 2003.

The popularity of motorsport in Rio is rising, and recently Brazil has been promoting Stock Car championships and rally events. The national championships in Brazil motorsport categories are Stock Car Brasil and Fórmula Truck.

Sport Live bei
Sport Live bei